Look! The murals are talking to you!

Photo by Mariela D

Walking through the city
I stumble upon an alley
With colorful murals and graffiti
O!!! I have arrived at Balmy!!!!!!

Located in the Mission district neighborhood, the murals apparently date back to the 1970s as artists’ expressed their outrage over human rights and political abuses in Latin America. Today, apart from the history lessons, there are juvenile and playful cartoonish murals too that balance the intensity of the immigrant-themed murals.

A peek into the treasure trove at Balmy Alley!!

A huge thank you to Mariela, Carlos, Jessica, Lina, Tony and Margie for these lovely pictures.

I’ve lived in the Bay Area for a few years but didn’t know of this place until recently a friend pointed me this way. Next time you visit the Bay Area, don’t forget to take a stroll down Balmy Alley, enjoy the colorful murals and patronize local art!

Until next time…..

Posted on April 18, 2011, in Murals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have driven through this street a few times and noticed the murals. How I wish I had stopped and taken a few pictures. These look great. I know what to do in SFO next.

  2. nice but too-brief blog post! yes, treasures are everywhere if one takes the time to look then SEE. i love getting lost in my hometown after being away almost three decades. hugs and saludos!!

  3. Thanks for using my photo! As a lifelong resident of SF, I didn’t know about Balmy until I stumbled upon it on a trip to Humphrey Slocombe ice cream.

    My parents came to SF from Mexico in the early 70s and my mom lived 1/2 a block away from Balmy. Around that time, the entire area saw a huge influx of latino immigrants. But now, the area has been gentrified: The taqueria is next to a hipster ice cream shop which is next to a carniceria. It’s a mix of cultures. It’s a mix of new and old.

    Balmy Street is a reminder of the people who made the area what the latin-america cultural mecca that it is. And is a tribute to those who picked up and moved to a new country to find a better life. If you’re ever in the area, I encourage you to stop by, take in the art, and maybe take a few photos 🙂

  4. Thank you for a great post.

Leave a Reply

